HMI Semester 45 Calendar

Students arrive in Denver by 2pm, depart for Leadville
Monday, August 17, 2020

Orientation and expedition preparation
Tuesday, August 18, 2020 – Wednesday, August 19, 2020

First Expedition: Collegiate Peaks Wilderness, Colorado
Thursday, August 20 – Friday, September 4, 2020

Classes begin on campus
Monday, September 7, 2020

Second Expedition: Canyons of Southeastern Utah
Monday, September 28 – Friday, October 9, 2020

Classes resume on campus
Monday, October 12, 2020

Virtual Family Weekend
Friday, November 6 – Saturday, November 7, 2020 (Activities will begin at 6pm MDT on Friday and conclude by 7pm MDT on Saturday)

Final Expedition: Canyons of Southeastern Utah
Tuesday, November 10 – Friday, November 20, 2020

Classes resume on campus 
Monday, November 23, 2020

On-Campus Thanksgiving celebration
Thursday, November 26, 2020

Full Circle and closing ceremonies 
Thursday, December 10, 2020

Students depart
Friday, December 11, 2020 (Parents should book flights out of Denver International Airport that depart between 11:30am and 6pm MDT)

COVID-19 Calendar Modifications

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic the following changes have been made to the Semester 45 calendar originally published in March:

  • Family weekend will be all-virtual. So as to reduce the risk of exposure, family members are not allowed to visit campus during the semester. 
  • Students will not depart campus for Thanksgiving break. Instead they will stay on campus and participate in classes and a Thanksgiving celebration during the week of Thanksgiving. 
  • Students will finish the semester one week early: on December 11th instead of 18th.