HMI Semester 47 Calendar

Dates: Monday, August 16 – Friday, December 17, 2021

Students arrive in Denver by 2pm, depart for Leadville
Monday, August 16, 2021

Please book inbound flights that arrive at Denver International Airport between 10am and 2pm MT if possible. 

Orientation and expedition preparation
Tuesday, August 17 – Wednesday, August 18

First Expedition: Sawatch and Collegiate Range, Colorado
Thursday, August 19 – Friday, September 3

Classes begin on campus
Monday, September 6

Second Expedition: Canyons of Southeastern Utah
Tuesday, September 28 – Thursday, October 7

Classes resume on campus
Monday, October 11

Family Weekend
Friday, November 5 – Saturday, November 6 (Activities will begin at 6pm MT on Friday and conclude by 8pm MT on Saturday)

*Optional: Students may leave campus to spend time with their families after the Saturday evening activities have concluded. Students may return to campus anytime on Sunday, November 7, and must return to campus no later than Monday, November 8 at 9am.

Third Expedition: Canyons of Southeastern Utah
Wednesday, November 10 – Saturday, November 20

Thanksgiving Break (all students depart) 
Sunday, November 21 – Sunday, November 28

  • Outbound flights from Denver International Airport on Sunday, November 21 should be booked to depart between 11:30am – 4pm MT. 
  • Incoming flights to Denver International Airport on Sunday, November 28 should be booked to arrive between 10am -2pm MT.
  • HMI will provide transportation to and from the airport for any student flying out/in for Thanksgiving Break.

Classes resume on campus
Monday, November 29

Full Circle and closing ceremonies 
Thursday, December 16

Students depart
Friday, December 17, 2021 

Please book outbound flights that depart Denver International Airport between 11:30am and 6pm MT if possible.